Never Once

by travispauld

I shudder to think where I would be if it were not for my friend Don.  Many years ago when I was first introduced to Don I didn’t have much hope.

Don took the time to share with me and help me through a really difficult time in my life.  He spent alot of time building me up and encouraging me.

What’s really amazing is that he could have looked down on me.  He had a lot of things going for him and my life was such a mess.  But I never got that sense from Don.

He was one of the most selfless individuals I’ve ever met.  Never once did he ask me for a thing.

He took me to my first Celebrate Recovery meeting where I met Jesus for the first time.

He bought me a book on prayer that I kept with me for many years.  Anytime I was struggling I always went to that book.

He took me with him when he went out to dinner.  Most times he paid for it.   We ate like kings even though we were just a couple of ordinary guys.

He offered to give me money to buy my mom something for Christmas when I wasn’t working.

We went to movies together.  Alot of good memories.

He called me on a regular basis to talk.  Not to lecture me, just to see how I was doing.

He seemed genuinely interested in me as a person.

He took me to meet his family which may not seem like a big deal but in those days it was a big deal.

He gave and he never took.  He always made me feel accepted.

Peace,

Travis

