Vintage – Shooting the Mailman

by travispauld

I don’t really know where the phrase, “don’t shoot the mailman,” originated.  It’s a term that became popularized before I was born.

But I read an interesting story one time that just seemed to surface in my memory today.

The story is about a Preacher named Charles Stanley.   Charles Stanley was actually the victim of an assault by a Deacon in the congregation where he was ministering at the time.

But true to his nature Charles Stanley got up, shrugged it off and stood by the man.  His son Andy Stanley, 13 at the time, recalls, “In that moment I wanted to be that kind of man… From that moment on, it didn’t matter what anybody said. Because actions speak louder than words.”

I guess that’s why shooting the mailman isn’t such a good idea!

Peace,

Travis

